Thinking global, living local

BrandSafway and the 2017 Roll-Up Wave That Turned Scaffolding Into a $6.7 Billion Industry

August 30, 2026

In 2017, three separate ownership groups reached for the same lever in the same corner of the industrial-services business: buy scale. Brand Energy & Infrastructure Services merged with Safway Group to form BrandSafway, a ~$5 billion, 32,000-employee scaffolding and access giant. Altrad bought UK-listed Cape plc for £332 million. United Rentals bought NES Rentals for $965 million. None of the three deals were coordinated with each other — but two years later, one of them was valued at $6.7 billion, and the shape of that outcome was visible in 2017 already.

Mergers & Acquisitions · Industrial Services · Global · 30 August 2026

BrandSafway and the 2017 Roll-Up Wave That Turned Scaffolding Into a $6.7 Billion Industry

Skip to article content
Text Size

The short version.

Scaffolding on a building under construction
Scaffolding and access services were the fragmented, capital-intensive industry that BrandSafway, Altrad and United Rentals each moved to consolidate in 2017. Scaffolding for a building under construction, రవిచంద్ర, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.
  • BrandSafway: Brand Energy & Infrastructure Services (backed by Clayton, Dubilier & Rice) and Safway Group (backed by Odyssey Investment Partners) agreed to combine on 20 March 2017 and completed the merger on 22 June 2017. Financial terms were not disclosed. The combined company, renamed Brand Industrial Services, Inc. (trading as BrandSafway), had nearly $5 billion in revenue, about 32,000 employees, and 350+ locations in 30 countries. CD&R took the controlling stake; Odyssey exited its 2009 investment in Safway.
  • Altrad – Cape plc: French industrial-services group Altrad bid £332 million for UK-listed Cape plc in July 2017, adding over 10,000 employees and, by one account, roughly tripling Altrad's revenue base at the time. It was the third of three major Altrad acquisitions in three years — Hertel (2015) and Prezioso Linjebygg (2016) preceded it, together adding roughly €2 billion in combined revenue.
  • United Rentals – NES Rentals: United Rentals agreed on 25 January 2017 to buy NES Rentals in an all-cash deal worth approximately $965 million, closing 3 April 2017 — a 4.9× EBITDA multiple net of synergies (4.3× adjusted, including acquired tax assets). This is equipment rental, not scaffolding specifically, but the same consolidation logic: buy a smaller competitor's fleet and locations rather than build them.
  • None of these three deals was coordinated with the others — different buyers, different sellers, different structures. What they share is the underlying economics of a fragmented, capital-intensive services business: scale lowers cost per job and widens the geographic footprint a customer can be served in, so buying a rival's book of business is often cheaper than building the same footprint organically.
  • The clearest evidence the BrandSafway thesis worked: on 30 September 2019, Brookfield Business Partners agreed to buy half of CD&R's stake in BrandSafway for about $1.3 billion in equity, valuing the company at roughly $6.7 billion (including about $3.8 billion of debt) — leaving Brookfield and CD&R each holding about 45%. That is two years of growth and further bolt-on acquisitions on top of the 2017 merger, not a clean before/after of the merger alone, and is reported here as such.

The deal at the center: Brand and Safway

Of the three, BrandSafway is the one built by combining two already-large platforms rather than one company buying another outright. Brand Energy & Infrastructure Services entered the deal as a portfolio company of Clayton, Dubilier & Rice, which had originally built the Brand platform starting with an acquisition around 2013 valued at roughly $1.9 billion, according to investment-bank TKO Miller's account of the sector's consolidation history. Safway Group entered as a portfolio company of Odyssey Investment Partners, which had owned it since 2009.

The two sides announced their agreement to combine on 20 March 2017 and completed the merger on 22 June 2017. Neither side disclosed financial terms of the combination itself. What is disclosed is the shape of the result: a company renamed Brand Industrial Services, Inc., trading in the United States as BrandSafway, with close to $5 billion in revenue, roughly 32,000 employees worldwide, and more than 350 locations across 30 countries. Ownership consolidated around CD&R, which took the controlling interest; Odyssey exited the investment it had held in Safway since 2009.

Deal dates, the undisclosed-terms status, and the combined company's revenue/employee/location figures are from BrandSafway's own joint press release (PR Newswire/GlobeNewswire, March and June 2017) and corroborating trade coverage (PE Hub, Vertikal.net). The $1.9 billion figure for CD&R's original 2013 acquisition of Brand is from TKO Miller's published account of scaffolding-industry consolidation and was not independently verified against a primary deal announcement.

Two more deals, same year, same logic

BrandSafway was not an isolated event. Two other substantial consolidation deals landed in adjacent parts of the same industry in 2017, each following the same basic arithmetic — buy scale rather than build it — through different mechanisms.

DealAnnounced / closedStructureValue
Brand + Safway → BrandSafwayAnnounced 20 Mar 2017; closed 22 Jun 2017Merger of two PE-backed platforms; CD&R controlling, Odyssey exitsNot disclosed
Altrad acquires Cape plcBid announced Jul 2017Strategic acquisition of a UK-listed target by a privately held serial acquirer£332 million
United Rentals acquires NES RentalsAnnounced 25 Jan 2017; closed 3 Apr 2017All-cash acquisition by the market's largest public strategic buyer~$965 million (4.9× EBITDA net of synergies)

Altrad's move on Cape was itself the third step of a three-year run: the France-based, founder-led group had bought Netherlands-based Hertel in 2015 and France-based Prezioso Linjebygg in 2016, before bidding £332 million for Cape in 2017 — a deal reported to have added over 10,000 employees and roughly tripled Altrad's revenue base at the time. Cape itself spanned access, insulation, engineering, specialist coatings, fireproofing and related industrial-maintenance services — a close cousin of BrandSafway's own service lines, built by a completely different buyer with no connection to CD&R or Odyssey.

United Rentals' purchase of NES Rentals sits one step removed from scaffolding specifically — NES rents construction equipment rather than providing scaffolding/access labor — but the transaction discipline is instructive by comparison: a disclosed price ($965 million), a disclosed multiple (4.9× EBITDA net of synergies, 4.3× adjusted for acquired tax assets), and a fast timeline from announcement (25 January 2017) to close (3 April 2017). That level of disclosure is the exception among these three deals, not the rule, and it is the only one of the three where an outside reader can check the price against the earnings it bought.

Altrad's acquisition history and the Cape deal's £332 million value, employee count and revenue-tripling claim are from ScaffMag's trade coverage. United Rentals' NES Rentals price, dates and EBITDA multiples are from United Rentals' own press release and corroborating trade/financial press (Equipment World, CNBC, Industrial Distribution), and from United Rentals' 2017 Form 10-Q filings.

What happened two years later

The clearest test of whether the BrandSafway thesis worked is what a sophisticated buyer was willing to pay for a stake in it afterward. On 30 September 2019, Brookfield Business Partners, together with institutional partners, agreed to acquire half of CD&R's ownership interest in BrandSafway for approximately $1.3 billion in equity. The transaction valued BrandSafway at roughly $6.7 billion, including about $3.8 billion of debt, and left Brookfield and CD&R-managed funds each holding approximately 45%, with BrandSafway management retaining a minority interest.

MeasureAt 2017 mergerAt 2019 Brookfield investment
Revenue~$5 billionNot disclosed in the sources used here
Employees~32,000Not disclosed in the sources used here
Company valuationNot disclosed~$6.7 billion (incl. ~$3.8 billion debt)
Majority ownerCD&R (controlling)CD&R and Brookfield, ~45% each
From a $965M Deal to a $6.7B Company Deal and valuation figures cited in this piece, USD NES Rentals deal (2017) $965M Brookfield equity check (2019) $1.3B BrandSafway valuation (2019) $6.7B
Source: figures as stated in this article.

The 2019 Brookfield investment's structure, price, valuation and closing timeline (announced 30 September 2019, expected to close Q1 2020) are from Brookfield Business Partners' own press release, corroborated by CD&R's press release, legal-advisor announcements (Debevoise & Plimpton, Paul, Weiss) and trade press (The Globe and Mail). The $6.7 billion figure describes the company two years after the merger, following further bolt-on acquisitions and organic growth in the interim; it is not a clean measure of the 2017 merger's own value creation, and should not be read as one.

A company with no disclosed price tag in 2017 was worth enough, by one sophisticated buyer's own money, to justify a $1.3 billion check for less than half of it two years later. That is evidence the roll-up worked. It is not evidence of what the 2017 merger itself was worth, because two years of further growth and acquisitions sit in between.

What doesn't follow from any of this

Three deals sharing a year and a sector is not the same as three deals sharing a strategy meeting. BrandSafway, Altrad-Cape and United Rentals-NES were executed by unrelated ownership groups for their own reasons, and treating 2017 as a coordinated "wave" risks implying coordination that the sources here do not show. The mechanisms differ too: BrandSafway is a merger of near-equals with one side's backer exiting; Altrad-Cape is a strategic acquisition by a privately held serial buyer; United Rentals-NES is a large public company buying a smaller private one for equipment-fleet scale, a step removed from scaffolding labor services specifically. Grouping them is useful for spotting a shared economic logic in a fragmented, capital-intensive industry — it is not evidence of a single orchestrated consolidation. Nor does BrandSafway's $6.7 billion valuation in 2019 tell a reader what the 2017 merger itself created in value, since the intervening two years included further acquisitions and operating results this piece has not itemized.

Sources and caveats

BrandSafway merger details — the 20 March 2017 agreement, 22 June 2017 completion, undisclosed financial terms, the combined entity's ~$5 billion revenue, ~32,000 employees, 350+ locations in 30 countries, CD&R's controlling stake, and Odyssey's exit from its 2009 Safway investment — are from Brand Energy & Infrastructure Services' and Safway Group's own joint press releases (PR Newswire, 20 March 2017; GlobeNewswire, 22 June 2017), corroborated by PE Hub and Vertikal.net trade coverage. TKO Miller's account of the sector's consolidation history, including the ~$1.9 billion figure for CD&R's original 2013 acquisition of Brand and the characterization of 2006-08 as an earlier consolidation wave (Brock under Lindsay Goldberg, Brand's pre-First-Reserve acquisitions), is from TKO Miller's published "State of the Scaffolding Industry" material and was not independently verified against primary deal filings. Altrad's acquisition of Hertel (2015), Prezioso Linjebygg (2016) and its £332 million bid for Cape plc (2017) — including the reported 10,000+ added employees, the revenue-tripling claim, and the combined ~€2 billion revenue added across the three deals — are from ScaffMag's trade coverage of Altrad and were not independently verified against Altrad's own financial disclosures. United Rentals' acquisition of NES Rentals — the 25 January 2017 agreement, 3 April 2017 close, ~$965 million all-cash consideration, and the 4.9×/4.3× EBITDA multiples — is from United Rentals' own press release and its 2017 Form 10-Q filings with the SEC, corroborated by Equipment World, CNBC and Industrial Distribution trade coverage. The 2019 Brookfield Business Partners investment in BrandSafway — announced 30 September 2019, ~$1.3 billion in equity for half of CD&R's stake, a resulting ~$6.7 billion valuation including ~$3.8 billion of debt, ~45%/45% CD&R/Brookfield ownership post-close, and an expected Q1 2020 close — is from Brookfield Business Partners' own press release, corroborated by Clayton, Dubilier & Rice's press release, legal-advisor announcements (Debevoise & Plimpton, Paul, Weiss) and The Globe and Mail's reporting. BrandSafway's current ownership by Brookfield Asset Management, referenced in passing, is from general market-player descriptions in trade sources and was not independently re-verified for this piece's current-date accuracy. Nothing in this piece is investment, M&A or procurement advice; any figure that matters to a decision should be checked against the cited primary press releases or regulatory filings.

Related on this blog: UK Retail Canopies at 5.4m: The Real Design Standard Is 5.03m, and One Approved Site Only Reached 5.1m — another piece on the physical-structures side of retail real estate — this one on the UK's own canopy height standard.

About this article: Researched, written and edited by Umashankar Triplicane Dwarakanathan, with AI research assistance; every figure is meant to trace to the primary source cited. See the Editorial Policy for how sourcing, AI use and corrections work.

Umashankar Triplicane Dwarakanathan
Contact Us
Umashankar Triplicane Dwarakanathan
Investment Promotion & Energy-Sector Leader · Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
LinkedIn → GitHub → Email +91 78273 81696
How this site works

Data-led analysis of India's trade, currency and industrial policy. Every article is built from primary official sources, and every figure links back to the release, table or filing it came from.

Sources. DGCI&S TradeStat (imports/exports, HSN-wise) · PIB (government press releases, January 2017 to today, refreshed daily) · RBI (circulars, balance of payments) · MoSPI (CPI/WPI, IIP) · PARIVESH (environmental clearances) · CCIL (bond yields) · BIS (policy rates) · SEBI, NSE/BSE and SEC filings for company data.

Interpretation. Figures carry their vintage and retrieval date; estimates and press-reported numbers are labelled as such; where sources disagree, both are shown. Corrections are made visibly, never silently. Articles are written with AI assistance from the cited sources — AI-generated text can misstate figures even when working from real material, so verify any number that matters to a decision against the linked primary source.

footer

Browse all articles by topic

Every piece on this blog, grouped. Or read the full index.

Agriculture & FertilisersAI ToolsChemicalsClimate & CarbonEnergy & FuelsGas & LNGImport SubstitutionIndustrial PolicyMarkets & FinanceMobility & EVPrices & InflationTextilesTrade & Tariffs

Each topic is a live archive page that updates itself as pieces are labelled. It replaces a hand-kept list that had fallen 18 articles behind.