Two petrochemical intermediates sit behind the same supermarket aisle: one turns into the gel that keeps a diaper dry, the other into the surfactant that makes a detergent foam. India makes plenty of the second one and sells the surplus abroad. Until very recently, it made none of the first — every gram was imported.
The Detergent Chemical India Exports, and the Diaper Chemical It Imports Completely
The short version.
- LAB (linear alkylbenzene) is the petrochemical precursor to LABSA, the workhorse surfactant in most fabric detergents and dish soaps. India already makes plenty: Indian Oil Corporation runs the country's single largest LAB unit (162,000 tonnes/year after a 2022 revamp), and Tamilnadu Petroproducts Limited (TPL) just expanded its own plant from 120,000 to 145,000 tonnes/year, on top of capacity at Reliance and ONGC Petro. TPL alone says its LAB is inside roughly 40% of India's fabric detergents, and exports the rest to buyers abroad.
- SAP (super absorbent polymer) — the gel-forming polymer that locks liquid inside a diaper or sanitary pad — is the mirror image. As of FY2022, India had zero domestic SAP production: the entire market, then around 50,000 tonnes a year and worth roughly $715 million by 2024, was met by imports from BASF, Nippon Shokubai, LG Chem, Sumitomo Seika and Chinese suppliers. Personal care and hygiene products — diapers and sanitary pads specifically — account for about 85% of that volume.
- That's only just starting to change. In January 2022, state refiner BPCL inaugurated a 200-tonne-a-year demonstration plant at its Kochi Refinery, using SAP production technology it developed in-house at its Greater Noida R&D centre, with a 50,000-tonne-a-year commercial plant planned to follow (no confirmed operational date found). Separately, a Rajasthan-based startup, EF Polymer, makes a smaller, differently-sourced organic and biodegradable SAP from agricultural waste, and expanded to about 1,200 tonnes a year (100 tonnes/month) in 2024.
- Put together, that's still a rounding error against national SAP demand — the 200-tonne demo plant alone is roughly 0.4% of a 50,000-tonne market. LAB and SAP sit on opposite ends of the same "does India make this or buy it" question, inside products that often share a shopping basket.
- The diaper aisle hides a further twist: Swara Baby Products, a contract manufacturer near Indore, is the OEM behind Pampers, Huggies, Himalaya, Babyhug and several other "brand-name" diapers sold in India — most shoppers assume each brand makes its own. On detergent, the newest format riding the same LABSA chemistry is the pre-dosed laundry pod (P&G's Ariel PODs, HUL's Surf Excel Matic Smart Shots) — a delivery-format change, not a new chemistry.
What each chemical actually does
Both LAB and SAP are intermediate chemicals — nobody buys either one directly off a shelf, but nearly every household uses products built on them. Linear alkylbenzene is a petrochemical made by reacting benzene with linear paraffins; sulphonating it produces LABSA (linear alkylbenzene sulphonic acid), the primary surfactant that lets a detergent or soap actually lift oil and dirt off fabric or skin and suspend it in water. Super absorbent polymer is a different kind of chemistry entirely — typically a cross-linked sodium polyacrylate, made by polymerising acrylic acid, that can absorb and lock in many times its own weight in liquid. That property is what lets a modern diaper or sanitary pad stay thin while holding far more fluid than the cotton or pulp padding it replaced decades ago.
The chemical descriptions of LAB/LABSA and SAP (sodium polyacrylate, cross-linked, absorbing many times its weight in liquid) are standard characterisations corroborated across Tamilnadu Petroproducts' own product page, IOCL's LAB product page, and industry coverage of SAP technology (Digital Refining, ChemAnalyst).
LAB: India already makes it, and sells the surplus
India's LAB capacity is spread across refining-adjacent majors who already have the underlying feedstocks — benzene and linear paraffins — flowing through their own plants. Indian Oil Corporation revamped its LAB unit up to 162,000 tonnes a year in 2022, making it the country's single largest LAB supplier. Tamilnadu Petroproducts Limited completed its own expansion in March 2026, taking its plant from 120,000 to 145,000 tonnes a year at a revised capital cost of ₹365 crore, and separately became the first LAB producer anywhere to hold BIS certification under IS 12795:2020 for high-quality LAB. Reliance Industries runs multiple large, vertically integrated LAB units in western India, and ONGC Petro is a further domestic producer, though this piece could not find a public capacity figure for either. By TPL's own account, its LAB sits inside roughly 40% of the fabric detergents used in Indian households, and the company has built a genuine export book on top of that, with its LAB accepted by industry buyers in multiple overseas markets.
| Producer | LAB capacity (tonnes/year) | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Indian Oil Corporation (IOCL) | 162,000 | Revamped 2022; single largest domestic supplier |
| Tamilnadu Petroproducts (TPL) | 145,000 | Expanded from 120,000 in March 2026 |
| Reliance Industries | Not disclosed in sources checked | Multiple integrated units, western India |
| ONGC Petro | Not disclosed in sources checked | Listed as a domestic producer |
IOCL's 162,000-tonne 2022 revamp figure was directly confirmed on a follow-up fetch of IOCL's own investor-presentation PDF, which lists "Gujarat LAB: 0.162 MMTPA." TPL's own site (tnpetro.com) returned an unrelated, apparently hijacked or parked page on a direct-fetch attempt and could not be used to verify TPL's figures directly; Indian Chemical News, fetched directly instead, confirms TPL as "India's leading manufacturer of LAB... 40% of fabric detergents... 'Superlab' brand," and a separate Indian Chemical News piece (dated May 2023) confirms the BIS IS-12795:2020 certification predates the March 2026 expansion by nearly three years, consistent with how this piece already frames them as separate milestones. The 145,000-tonne/₹365-crore expansion figures remain corroborated only by secondary sources (TipRanks, Whalesbook) since TPL's own site could not be independently verified on this pass. Reliance's and ONGC Petro's status as domestic LAB producers is corroborated across industry market-report summaries, but this piece could not find a specific capacity figure for either from the sources checked, so none is stated.
SAP: a token domestic pilot since 2022, still overwhelmingly imported
The SAP picture is close to the opposite of LAB's. Before 2022, India had no domestic SAP producer at all — national demand, then roughly 50,000 tonnes a year (50.8 thousand tonnes by 2023, valued at about $715.4 million by 2024), was met entirely by imports. Personal care and hygiene products — principally diapers and sanitary pads — account for around 85% of that volume, with the rest going into agriculture, industrial and other absorbent applications. The suppliers filling that demand are the same handful of firms that dominate SAP globally: BASF, Nippon Shokubai, LG Chem, Sumitomo Seika, and Chinese manufacturers.
That began to change, in a small way, earlier than this piece originally reported: on 11 January 2022, not November 2024, state refiner BPCL inaugurated a 200-tonne-a-year demonstration plant at its Kochi Refinery, built on SAP production technology the company developed in-house at its R&D centre in Greater Noida rather than licensing it from an existing global producer. A commercial-scale plant of 50,000 tonnes a year has been publicly discussed as the next phase, but this piece found no confirmed date for it reaching operation, even after a follow-up check. At 200 tonnes against a roughly 50,000-tonne national market, the demo plant itself never displaced a meaningful share of imports — it establishes that India can make SAP at all, not that it has stopped needing to import it. Separately and on a different technology path entirely, Rajasthan-based EF Polymer makes an organic, biodegradable SAP derived from agricultural waste rather than petrochemical acrylic acid, and expanded its production five-fold to around 100 tonnes a month (roughly 1,200 tonnes a year) as of May 2024. BASF has also moved into India recently, but on the research side rather than manufacturing: it opened a global diaper-and-superabsorbent performance lab in Mumbai in August 2026, part of its wider Innovation Campus Asia Pacific — a customer-facing R&D and testing facility, not a production plant, and not evidence of new domestic SAP output.
| Producer / initiative | Capacity (tonnes/year) | Route | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| BPCL, Kochi Refinery | 200 (demo); 50,000 (commercial, planned) | Petrochemical (in-house tech) | Demo inaugurated 11 Jan 2022; commercial timeline unconfirmed |
| EF Polymer, Rajasthan | ~1,200 | Agricultural-waste-derived, biodegradable | Operating; expanded 5x as of May 2024 |
| BASF, Mumbai | n/a — R&D lab, not production | — | Opened August 2026 |
The FY2022 zero-domestic-production figure, the ~50,000/50.8 thousand-tonne market volume (FY2022/2023), the $715.4 million 2024 market value, and the 85% personal-care-and-hygiene share are corroborated across ChemAnalyst's and BlueWeave's India superabsorbent polymer market coverage. BPCL's demo-plant commissioning date was corrected on a follow-up direct fetch of BPCL's own site (bharatpetroleum.in), which states unambiguously: "11 Jan 2022 | SAP demonstration plant at Kochi Refinery inaugurated" — independently corroborated by Indian Chemical News (dated 19 January 2022) and other contemporary 2022 trade coverage; this piece's original November 2024 date, from Millennium Post and ICIS, was incorrect and has been replaced. The in-house Greater Noida-developed technology, the 200-tonne capacity, and the planned 50,000-tonne commercial follow-on remain corroborated by that same coverage; the commercial plant's operational status as of this piece's research still could not be confirmed from any source checked, including on this follow-up pass, so it is reported as planned/unconfirmed rather than operating. EF Polymer's Rajasthan relocation, its organic/biodegradable agricultural-waste-based SAP, and its five-fold May 2024 capacity expansion to ~100 tonnes/month are from trade coverage of the company. BASF's August 2026 Mumbai diaper-and-SAP performance lab, and its status as an R&D/testing facility rather than a production plant, are from BASF's own press release and Nonwovens Industry's coverage of it.
Why the same country ended up on opposite ends of these two chemicals
The gap isn't really about India's industrial capability — it's about how each technology diffused globally. LAB is a mature, decades-old petrochemical process built on feedstocks (benzene, linear paraffins) that India's existing refining and petrochemical majors already handle at scale; adding a LAB unit is a natural extension of a refinery IOCL, Reliance or BPCL already runs, which is exactly why those same companies dominate domestic LAB production. SAP production technology, by contrast, has historically been concentrated among a small number of global specialty-chemical firms (BASF, Nippon Shokubai, LG Chem, Evonik, Sumitomo Seika) that built and protected the process expertise over decades, without the same broad diffusion into general petrochemical refining. That's consistent with why BPCL's route into SAP required developing its own in-house technology at a dedicated R&D centre rather than simply repurposing existing refinery-adjacent expertise the way its LAB-producing peers could.
Where it actually ends up: the factories, and the newest format on the shelf
The most counterintuitive part of the diaper supply chain isn't the SAP inside it — it's who's actually making the finished product. Swara Baby Products, based in the Pithampur industrial area near Indore, Madhya Pradesh, is described in its own and trade coverage as India's leading contract manufacturer of disposable diapers, with 25 years in the business and more than 15 production lines turning out baby diapers, adult diapers and feminine-hygiene products. It became the first Indian manufacturer to hold BIS certification for baby diapers (under IS 17509:2021) in 2024, and by its own and trade-press account, it is the OEM behind a client list that reads like the diaper aisle itself: Pampers, Huggies, Himalaya, Babyhug, Mothercare, Little's, Supples and Cuddles, among others — brands a shopper would otherwise assume were made by their own listed parent company; more recent 2026 coverage of the company's IPO filing adds Unicharm, P&G and Kenvue to that client list. Its founder is reported as Alok Birla, previously an OEM supplier to Kimberly-Clark in Southeast Asia before founding the company — though a follow-up fetch of the original press release found that detail only in secondary bio-style sources (LinkedIn-type profiles), not in the press release itself, putting it on roughly the same single-source footing as the Brainbees/FirstCry claim this piece already excludes below; it is kept here as a reported, not independently confirmed, biographical detail. Separately, June 2026 coverage of Swara's IPO filing (Business Standard) describes the company as FirstCry-promoted — effectively confirming, via a specific, dated financial-press source, the Brainbees Solutions/FirstCry connection this piece had earlier excluded for resting on a single secondary summary alone. Alongside contract manufacturing, two companies do make and sell diapers under their own name at scale: Nobel Hygiene (the Friends and Teddy brands) runs 14 production lines across two GMP-certified facilities — 10 lines at Nashik, Maharashtra (its original plant, opened 2010) and 4 high-speed lines at Halol, Gujarat, built to EU and US regulatory standards — and Kimberly-Clark (Huggies) operates a facility at Sricity in Andhra Pradesh.
Detergent manufacturing is more conventionally structured around the big listed brand-owners themselves. Hindustan Unilever traces its detergent-and-soap manufacturing lineage back to a Sewri, Mumbai factory opened in 1934, and today runs 40-plus factories nationwide, including a home-and-personal-care plant at Chhindwara and a Home Care facility at Sumerpur, Uttar Pradesh, inaugurated in July 2022. Procter & Gamble manufactures detergent powder at Baddi, Himachal Pradesh, and runs a further plant at Mandideep, Madhya Pradesh, among six manufacturing sites it operates in India. Nirma, headquartered in Ahmedabad, is vertically integrated in an unusual way for this industry: alongside detergents, soaps and cosmetics, it separately manufactures linear alkylbenzene itself — making it both a LAB producer and a LAB consumer under one roof. RSPL Group (Ghadi) traces back to a Kanpur soap factory in the Fazalganj neighbourhood that pivoted to detergent production in 1987, and now runs 21 detergent manufacturing units spread across Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra, plus a dedicated toilet-soap unit at Haridwar, Uttarakhand that started production in FY2008.
The newest format built on the same LABSA surfactant chemistry is the laundry pod — a pre-dosed, water-soluble capsule that dissolves fully in the wash rather than requiring a powder or liquid to be measured out. P&G introduced Ariel PODs to India in November 2020, a 3-in-1 (later 4-in-1 "Matic") capsule holding concentrated liquid detergent inside a dissolving film, aimed at automatic-washing-machine users who wanted a single-dose format over powder. HUL followed with its own equivalent, Surf Excel Matic 3-in-1 Smart Shots, sold for both front-load and top-load machines. Functionally, a pod doesn't change the underlying chemistry — it's still LABSA-based surfactant chemistry doing the cleaning — it changes the delivery format, trading the dosing flexibility of powder or liquid for consistency and convenience at a per-wash premium.
A caveat worth sitting with: LABSA-based surfactants don't stay contained once a wash cycle ends, and when detergent-laden water enters a water body as inadequately treated sewage rather than a functioning treatment plant, it can cause exactly the kind of toxic foaming that has become a recurring, visible problem in Indian cities. Bengaluru's Bellandur Lake is the best-documented case: it receives an estimated 258 million litres a day of inadequately treated sewage, roughly 47% of the lake's total volume, and IISc researchers have found that surfactants from household detergents and from detergent- and soap-industry effluent play a dominant role in the lake's notorious foam eruptions — working together with untreated sewage volume and turbulence, not as a sole cause. Phosphates in detergent formulations make the problem specifically worse: they boost a surfactant's cleaning efficacy but are not readily biodegradable, so surfactant concentrations have been found to build up on lake sediment to many times their original level rather than breaking down, with a peer-reviewed measurement putting surfactant concentration as high as 17.8 ppm — from a paper (Das, Chanakya & Rao, "Foam control in lakes and sewage receiving water bodies," Environmental Pollution, 2024) this piece originally, and incorrectly, dated to 2026; a follow-up fetch of IISc's own explainer traced the underlying mechanism but not the 258 MLD/17.8 ppm figures, and located the actual study, published 21 February 2024. Delhi's Yamuna river shows a similar, more seasonal pattern — foam has repeatedly covered stretches of the river around Chhath Puja, when devotees stand in the water, traced to phosphate-heavy detergent effluent from households, dyeing units and dhobi ghats (open-air laundries) across Delhi, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh combined with high ammonia levels and turbulence at barrages, reported to cause skin and respiratory irritation and prompting the Delhi government to install bamboo structures and spray water to break the foam down before the festival. Neither case should be read as proof that detergent alone causes this: at least one Karnataka government report specifically disputed detergent's share of blame at a related lake (Varthur) in favour of human waste as the primary driver, and untreated sewage volume and non-detergent industrial effluent are contributing factors in both cities. What's well documented is narrower but real: phosphate-boosted surfactant persistence measurably worsens foaming wherever inadequately treated sewage carrying it reaches a lake or river.
Swara Baby Products' Pithampur/Indore location, its 25-year history, its 15-plus production lines, its 2024 BIS IS-17509:2021 certification (the first for an Indian diaper manufacturer), and its core OEM client list (Pampers, Huggies, Himalaya, Baby Hug, Mothercare, Little's, Supples, Cuddles) were directly confirmed on a follow-up fetch of the company's original PTI wire release (via theweek.in, 20 March 2024). Founder Alok Birla's prior Kimberly-Clark Southeast Asia OEM experience was not found in that release; it remains sourced only to secondary bio-style profiles, on roughly the same footing as the Brainbees/FirstCry claim below, and is now flagged as such rather than presented as press-release-confirmed. The Unicharm/P&G/Kenvue client additions and the FirstCry-promoted detail are from more recent (2026) coverage of Swara's IPO filing, corroborated between Business Standard and other financial-press coverage. That FirstCry-promoted detail effectively confirms, from a specific and dated source, what this piece had previously excluded as a Brainbees Solutions/FirstCry rumor resting on a single secondary LinkedIn-style summary alone — so that earlier exclusion is now superseded rather than still standing. Nobel Hygiene's 14 production lines across Nashik (10 lines, opened 2010) and Halol, Gujarat (4 lines) are from Technical Textiles Today's profile of the company. Kimberly-Clark's Sricity, Andhra Pradesh facility is from Kimberly-Clark's own India locations page and TradeIndia's company profile. HUL's Sewri 1934 origin, its 40-plus factories, and its Chhindwara and Sumerpur (July 2022) facilities are from HUL's own corporate history pages and industry coverage. P&G's Baddi and Mandideep plants and its six India manufacturing sites are from IndiaMART supplier listings for both facilities and P&G's own careers/locations page. Nirma's Ahmedabad base and its vertically-integrated LAB manufacturing are from Wikipedia's Nirma article, cross-checked against Nirma's product-range description. RSPL/Ghadi's Kanpur/Fazalganj 1987 origin, its 21-unit multi-state footprint, and its Haridwar toilet-soap unit (FY2008 start) are from RK Dewan's brand-history coverage and RSPL Group's own corporate pages. Ariel PODs' November 2020 India launch and its 3-in-1/Matic 4-in-1 format are from AFAQS and Business Standard's coverage of the P&G launch; Surf Excel Matic Smart Shots pods are corroborated via HUL's own product listings, though this piece did not find a specific India launch date for them. Bellandur Lake's 258 million litres/day inadequately-treated-sewage figure (~47% of lake volume), the IISc finding on detergent-derived surfactants' dominant role in its foaming, and the phosphate-persistence mechanism are from Business Standard's and IISc's own coverage of the research, Citizen Matters' and The News Minute's explainers, and Deccan Herald's reporting; the 17.8 ppm surfactant-concentration figure traces to a specific peer-reviewed paper (Das, Chanakya & Rao, Environmental Pollution, DOI 10.1016/j.envpol.2024.123622), published 21 February 2024, not 2026 as this piece originally stated — a date error corrected on a follow-up fetch of IISc's own 2023 lake-foaming explainer, which confirms the surfactant/sludge mechanism but not the 258 MLD or 17.8 ppm figures themselves, those tracing instead to the 2024 follow-up paper. — including a separate Deccan Herald report specifically disputing detergent's share of blame at nearby Varthur Lake in favour of human waste, which is why this piece hedges rather than states detergent as the sole cause. The Yamuna/Chhath Puja foam mechanism (phosphate-heavy detergent effluent from households, dyeing units and dhobi ghats, high ammonia, barrage turbulence) and the bamboo-structure/water-spraying government response are from Deccan Herald, Deccan Chronicle, National Herald India and Tribune India's coverage of recurring Yamuna foam events.
How big is the demand, and what India's own trade data shows
Market-research estimates for both categories vary widely by firm and scope, but land in a consistent range. India's diaper market (baby diapers alone, definitions vary by report) is estimated at roughly $1.5-2.9 billion as of 2025-26, growing anywhere from 6% to 15% a year depending on the source and whether adult incontinence products are included. India's fabric wash and laundry-care market is larger and more mature: roughly $5-6 billion as of 2025, growing a more modest ~4.6% a year, with liquid detergents and pods the fastest-growing sub-segment as washing-machine penetration rises. Both figures should be read as industry estimates, not official statistics — unlike the trade figures below, none of them come from a government source.
The Ministry of Commerce's own TradeStat EIDB database, which this blog has used for HSN-code-level trade analysis before, tells a more precise and in places surprising story for FY2024-25. Finished detergent and surfactant preparations (HS 3402) ran a trade surplus of ₹1,686 crore — exports of ₹5,472 crore against imports of ₹3,786 crore, exports growing faster (14.4% CAGR over seven years) than imports (11.2%). Finished diapers and sanitary products (HS 9619) ran a smaller deficit of ₹186 crore — ₹557 crore of imports against ₹371 crore of exports, though exports have grown at a healthy 8.0% CAGR since FY2018-19. The raw-material picture is starker on both sides: the acrylic-polymer code that captures the bulk of SAP imports (HS 39069090, "other" acrylic polymers, 72% of the whole HS 3906 sub-chapter's imports) came in at ₹4,853 crore of imports in FY2024-25, growing 6.4% a year, with Indonesia and Japan together supplying the large majority of India's sodium polyacrylate imports specifically. This piece originally could not isolate exports for this code; a follow-up direct fetch of the same TradeStat-sourced table found them — ₹2,127 crore — giving a specific ₹2,725 crore deficit for this code rather than the unquantified "import-dominated" description this piece previously gave it. And the alkylbenzene/alkylnaphthalene code that includes LAB (HS 3817) shows a ₹3,649 crore deficit — ₹3,686 crore of imports against just ₹37 crore of exports.
| HS code | Covers | FY2024-25 exports (₹ crore) | FY2024-25 imports (₹ crore) | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3402 | Detergent/surfactant preparations (finished) | 5,472 | 3,786 | +1,686 surplus |
| 9619 | Diapers, sanitary pads, tampons (finished) | 371 | 557 | −186 deficit |
| 39069090 | Acrylic polymers, "other" (bulk of SAP) | 2,127 | 4,853 | −2,725 deficit |
| 3817 | Alkylbenzenes & alkylnaphthalenes (incl. LAB) | 37 | 3,686 | −3,649 deficit |
That last figure is a genuine tension worth sitting with rather than smoothing over: it sits awkwardly next to Section 2's account of India having substantial, even export-oriented, domestic LAB capacity at IOCL, TPL, Reliance and ONGC Petro. Two explanations are both plausible and this piece cannot adjudicate between them from the sources checked: HS 3817 is a broader customs heading than detergent-grade linear alkylbenzene alone — it also covers branched alkylbenzenes, alkylnaphthalenes and related industrial products used for purposes unrelated to detergent surfactant manufacture, so the ₹3,649 crore deficit may be driven substantially by products outside the LAB story told earlier in this piece; alternatively, India's real LAB trade balance may simply be less favourable than individual producers' own capacity and export announcements suggest. Either way, the code-level trade data and the company-level production story do not obviously reconcile, and this piece reports that gap rather than picking whichever number better fits the narrative.
One more thread ties back to the refining sector directly. Indian Oil Corporation — the country's largest LAB producer — is targeting more than tripling its annual petrochemical output, from 4.3 to well over 13 million tonnes, by 2030, and has described an aspirational long-run endpoint of turning crude oil entirely into value-added chemicals rather than fuels. This piece previously stated IOCL's Petrochemical Intensity Index target as "6.5% to 16%." A further check traced that "16%" to a single Business Standard report of IOCL's own August 2026 investor call; IOCL's own transcript of that same call and independent S&P Global reporting on it both instead put the target at 15%, so this piece now reports 15% and treats "16%" as a likely rounding or transcription variant of the same figure rather than a distinct target. The "6.5%" current-PII baseline is corroborated separately (a February 2026 interview with IOCL Chairman & Managing Director Arvinder Singh Sahney gives it as 6.1%, a modest, plausible uptick over the roughly six months to the August 2026 call). The tonnage target (4.3 to over 13 MMTPA) is confirmed across all of these sources. HPCL opened a new ₹79,459 crore refinery-cum-petrochemical complex at Barmer in July 2026, adding both 9 million tonnes of refining capacity and 2.4 million tonnes of petrochemical capacity in one project. The sourcing found for this piece attributes that shift explicitly to electric-vehicle adoption eroding future petrol demand growth, not to ethanol blending specifically — but the same directional logic plausibly extends to ethanol: every litre of E20 fuel sold requires 20% less petrol from a refinery's gasoline pool than the same litre would under pure petrol, and this piece separately found reporting that India's ethanol production capacity has already grown to exceed what E20 blending currently requires. Freeing refiners from a share of gasoline-pool demand, whether from EVs or from ethanol substitution, points naphtha and other refinery streams in the same direction: toward petrochemicals like LAB rather than the petrol tank. This piece did not find a source explicitly crediting ethanol blending, specifically, for India's fuel-to-petrochemical pivot, so that connection is offered here as this piece's own reasoning from two separately-sourced facts, not as a claim any cited source makes directly. BPCL — the same refiner running the 200-tonne SAP demonstration plant in Section 3 — is itself one of the companies navigating this broader shift in what a refinery is actually for.
The India diaper-market range ($1.5-2.9 billion, 6-15% CAGR depending on source and scope) is corroborated across IMARC Group, Expert Market Research and Grand View Research's differing India diaper-market reports, whose wide spread reflects genuinely different market definitions rather than an editorial choice among agreeing sources. The India fabric-wash/laundry-detergent market figures (~$5-6 billion, ~4.6% CAGR) are from IMARC Group's India fabric wash and care, and laundry detergent, market reports. All HS-code trade figures (HS 3402, HS 9619, HS 3817, HS 39069090) are sourced to the Ministry of Commerce & Industry's TradeStat EIDB database (FY2018-19 through FY2024-25), as compiled and reported by Busy.in's HSN-code trade-data summaries; this piece read those compiled summaries rather than querying TradeStat EIDB directly, since this session's network could not reach the government portal. The Indonesia/Japan sodium-polyacrylate import-source concentration is from Zauba's import-shipment data summary, which used a slightly different HS grouping (390690) than the 39069090 crore figure quoted above, so the two shouldn't be read as describing the identical dataset. IOCL's petrochemical-output tonnage target (4.3 to over 13 MMTPA by 2030) and its long-run 100%-chemicals aspiration were directly confirmed on a follow-up fetch of a February 2026 interview-based piece (thecore.in) quoting IOCL Chairman & Managing Director Arvinder Singh Sahney verbatim; that same source gives IOCL's current company-wide Petrochemical Intensity Index as 6.1% and a national PII range of 7.7-13%. A further check on the "6.5% to 16%" IOCL-target figure this piece previously stated traced "16%" to Business Standard's report of IOCL's August 2026 investor call; IOCL's own transcript of that call and independent S&P Global reporting both instead give 15%, which this piece now reports, treating "16%" as a likely rounding/transcription variant rather than a distinct target (the same correction was made to this blog's separate petrochemical-pivot piece, "The Barrel Really Is Shifting"). HPCL's Barmer complex (₹79,459 crore — independently corroborated at ₹79,460 crore by thecore.in — July 2026, 9 MMTPA refining/2.4 MMTPA petrochemicals) is confirmed by a 2023 PIB release plus multiple secondary sources for the inauguration date. The EV-driven framing for the refining sector's fuel-to-petrochemicals shift, and the fact that India's ethanol production capacity now exceeds E20 blending requirements, are both from search-result summaries of Hydrocarbon Processing's and other trade coverage of India's ethanol programme; the specific ethanol-frees-up-petrol-pool-capacity connection to LAB and other petrochemicals is this piece's own reasoning, explicitly flagged as such above rather than presented as a sourced claim.
What doesn't follow from any of this
Two things are worth being precise about before reading this as a completed or even well-underway import-substitution story. First, BPCL's 200-tonne demonstration plant and EF Polymer's roughly 1,200-tonne-a-year output together amount to well under 3% of a ~50,000-tonne SAP market — "India has started making SAP" is true and worth noting, but it should not be mistaken for meaningful displacement of the import bill, which remains the overwhelming majority of domestic supply by any figure found for this piece. The 50,000-tonne commercial plant BPCL has discussed, if and when it reaches operation, would be a genuinely different scale — but no confirmed commissioning date was found, so it is reported here as a plan, not a fact on the ground. Second, LAB self-sufficiency does not mean insulation from global price swings: LAB prices in India rose roughly 19.6% on a Saudi-origin CIF benchmark in March 2026 alone, driven by feedstock cost pressure — a reminder that domestic production capacity changes who manufactures the chemical, not whether its price still moves with global petrochemical markets. Some market-research summaries checked for this piece asserted that an unnamed "PLI scheme for chemicals" is accelerating SAP capacity investment in India; this piece could not trace that claim to a specific, named government scheme or official notification, so it is not repeated here as established fact. Third, Section 4c's own trade data complicates Section 2's "India already makes LAB and exports the surplus" framing rather than simply confirming it: the broader customs code including LAB shows a large national deficit, even though individual producers' own figures point the other way, and this piece was not able to resolve that discrepancy from the sources available.
Sources and caveats
This piece was originally researched entirely through web search rather than direct page fetches, because the network it was written from could not reach several primary and trade-press domains directly. Update, 1 September 2026: a follow-up pass has since fetched several of those sources directly — IOCL's own investor PDF, Indian Chemical News, BPCL's own site, busy.in's TradeStat-sourced tables, theweek.in, thecore.in, and IISc's own lake-foaming explainer. That confirmed IOCL's 162,000-tonne LAB capacity exactly; found TPL's own site (tnpetro.com) returning an unrelated, apparently hijacked page rather than usable content; corrected BPCL's SAP demonstration-plant date from November 2024 to its actual 11 January 2022 inauguration, a substantive fix since the plant has existed nearly three years longer than this piece originally said; filled in the previously-missing HS 39069090 export figure (₹2,127 crore, a ₹2,725 crore deficit for that code) from the same TradeStat table; corrected IOCL's Petrochemical Intensity Index target from a previously-stated "6.5% to 16%" to 15% after tracing "16%" to a likely rounding/transcription variant in a single secondary report, corroborated instead by IOCL's own investor-call transcript and independent S&P Global reporting, while confirming the underlying tonnage target; corrected the Bellandur Lake 17.8 ppm figure's source paper to 2024, not 2026; and, on Swara Baby Products, found the Alok Birla/Kimberly-Clark biographical detail is secondary-sourced only (not in the original press release), while a dated 2026 IPO-coverage source independently confirmed the FirstCry-promoter connection this piece had earlier excluded as unconfirmed. LAB producer and capacity figures (Section 2) are corroborated across IOCL's own investor materials, Indian Chemical News, and industry market-report summaries for Reliance and ONGC Petro's producer status. SAP market-size and zero-domestic-production figures (Section 3) are from ChemAnalyst's and BlueWeave's India superabsorbent polymer market research summaries. BPCL's SAP demonstration plant is now dated to BPCL's own site; EF Polymer's figures are from trade coverage of the company; BASF's Mumbai lab is from BASF's own press release. The March 2026 LAB price-surge figure (Section 5) remains from search-result summaries, not directly re-fetched on this pass. Factory and OEM details (Section 4b) are corroborated across The Week, The Print, Business Standard, Nonwovens Industry, Technical Textiles Today, IndiaMART, AFAQS, and each company's own corporate pages, with source-by-source detail given at the end of that section. No figure in this piece should be read as a current, live production or import statistic without checking the primary source cited, given the pace at which both BPCL's commercial SAP plant and ongoing LAB capacity additions are reported to be moving. Nothing in this piece is investment, procurement, or industrial-policy advice.
About this article: Researched, written and edited by Umashankar Triplicane Dwarakanathan, with AI research assistance; every figure is meant to trace to the primary source cited. See the Editorial Policy for how sourcing, AI use and corrections work.